[Review] The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

Gabry lives a quiet life, secure in her town next to the sea and behind the Barrier. She’s content to let her friends dream of the Dark City up the coast while she watches from the top of her lighthouse. Home is all she’s ever known, and all she needs for happiness.
But life after the Return is never safe, and there are threats even the Barrier can’t hold back.
Gabry’s mother thought she left her secrets behind in the Forest of Hands and Teeth, but like the dead in their world, secrets don’t stay buried. And now, Gabry’s world is crumbling.
One night beyond the Barrier…
One boy Gabry’s known forever and one veiled in mystery…
One reckless moment, and half of Gabry’s generation is dead, the other half imprisoned.
Gabry knows only one thing: if she is to have any hope of a future, she must face the forest of her mother’s past.
My Thought?
This is an amazing book. I just figured I should start with that because it really is. Carrie Ryan is officially one of my favorite authors out there. She had written another remarkable piece that I am lucky to have read.
Of course, you’d expect a sequel of a book to have a pattern you can find from the prequel, The Forest of Hands and Teeth, and as I was trying to spot it, I actually found myself loving the new setting and the new characters and how they are connected to the first. But I got to say that the second is actually better, not that the first one is any less likable. Enough with the comparing, really both are written by the same person. Maybe I was just trying to express my adoration to her books.
I bet many would agree with me if they like novels that have lots of conversations. I mean sometimes, that’s just what’s keeping me from continuing to read. Ryan writes a book full of narration. But with Ryan’s words, narration would mean another thing to me, definitely not boring. As a matter fact, I think she’s cruel enough to be keeping me from ever stopping from reading. How could it be so dull when things keep on happening? Really, you’d think it started to get boring only to find out that there’s another thing to look forward to. Crazy, yeah? That’s how Ryan does stuffs.
And no please, it’s not all just that. This book is rich, very rich. In a world where you wouldn’t be sure why you still even exist, gah, it’s frustrating trying to find a reason to live; trying to find concrete evidence that you’d be satisfied to know how you’re different from the Infected people you’re running away from. So I say rich because despite the diminishing hope and any other human emotions that only human beings are capable of feeling, Ryan could still find a way to your heart and speak how everything human about the people should not be given up. That people should keep pushing no matter how hopeless you feel.
I could only imagine how people at the post-zombie apocalypse felt. The fear that’s never going away and the thought of how significant is life that it would still exist even the world has already fallen into pieces. The will of being able to survive and continue being the human that you are to be able continue living and fighting would make you sympathetic as if you’re the one who’s there. The ironic thing is that I think this book is full of life even when it actually is a dystopian novel.
And I’m assuming that you already guessed how amazing this book is. I mean with all that being said, I hope you got what I mean. And note, I’m only usually able to write a little lengthy paragraph if I get excited. *winks

Ratings:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Review by:

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

