[Review] Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

Synopsis

When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created “perfect” life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she’s worked so hard for—her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect. Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.

In a passionate story about looking beneath the surface, Simone Elkeles breaks through the stereotypes and barriers that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart.

My thoughts?
I’ve seen movies about racism and discrimination. So it kind of gave me an idea of how this love story will cross the unspoken boundaries through love. The novel is great. I was scared for Brittany, the female protagonist, at some point because I mean wouldn’t she be in so much trouble with a gangbanger? And there goes my stereotype thinking. Who could blame me actually, for all the stuffs I’ve seen on the television, I was scared Alex’s world would actually hurt Brittany. Not that I didn’t care for Alex, I mean come on, I like the guy too.

I actually found myself wanting to finish the whole novel. There are just times when I wouldn’t even get to second thoughts to not finish a certain book but this one made me want to actually finish it. Maybe it actually glued me to it. Wanting to know what would happen next was first thought and the rest would just not matter.

In my reviews, I don’t know why but I always like to point out the so-called cheesy parts. I mean don’t you just love it when two people from different worlds cross paths and fall in love despite the odds? Oh wait, that sounds so familiar. Well anyway, it’s just amazing. It might sound cliché but it would just sound like that. Thinking that it might really happen, it would be really tough for the ones who would actually experience it.

Anyhow, thank Simone Elkeles for ending it in a good way. If you wonder how good the ending was, you just have to read it. And oh, I forgot this novel contains some sexual, course language and violent content recommended for the older teens. I hope I intrigued you, yeah? Ha.


Ratings:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Review by:

Photobucket

2 responses to “[Review] Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

  1. I really enjoyed this book, and it really made me want to go out and buy the rest of her novels! I know that she has another book coming out soon, that includes the youngest of Alex's brothers(: So I can't wait!One thing I really enjoyed about Elkeles writing was that it contain real spanish, I felt that it just made the book that more authentic! (even though I had google translate open through out the whole book!) Happy reading,lisa!

Leave a Reply

