[Review] Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella


Shopaholic Takes Manhattan 

by Sophie KinsellaPublication Date: January 1st, 2011

Mass Market Paperback, 388 pages
Published:March 2nd 2004 by Dell
 (first published September 3rd 2001)               

The irresistible heroine of Confessions of a Shopaholic and Shopaholic Ties the Knot is back! And this time Becky Bloomwood and her credit cards are headed across the Atlantic.…

With her shopping excesses (somewhat) in check and her career as a TV financial guru thriving, Becky’s biggest problem seems to be tearing her entrepreneur boyfriend, Luke, away from work for a romantic country weekend. And worse, figuring out how to pack light. But packing takes on a whole new meaning when Luke announces he’s moving to New York for business—and he asks Becky to go with him! Before you can say “Prada sample sale,” Becky has landed in the Big Apple, home of Park Avenue penthouses and luxury boutiques.

Surely it’s only a matter of time until she becomes an American TV celebrity, and she and Luke are the toast of Gotham society. Nothing can stand in their way, especially with Becky’s bills miles away in London. But then an unexpected disaster threatens her career prospects, her relationship with Luke, and her available credit line! Shopaholic Takes Manhattan—but will she have to return it?

-Goodreads

My Thoughts:

Reading Shopaholic Takes Manhattan is just pure BLISS! Just when you can’t laugh any harder, here strikes Rebecca Bloomwood again in a crazier, funnier and wittier second installment of the Shopaholic series! Absolutely, Becky is my most favorite chick-lit character. EVER. With a character just so outrageously funny, totally entertaining, and one who will drive you crazy, this is a wonderful book simply I could not put down and just the thought of this book even after I finished this, it doesn’t fail to make my lips curve upward. (:

In the second installment, Becky goes to the Manhattan with Luke, in attempting to making it big. I’ve witnessed her misadventures throughout the book, and she’s just utterly entertaining! Who would have thought of wearing her clothes on top of each other just to bring her whole wardrobe on a three-day trip, or faking out your boyfriend is around when he’s nowhere to be seen? I swear, I would lost count if I try to count the times I laughed my head off! But oddly enough, she wasn’t able to contain her control again, and she was in a skyrocketing debt. Again. Because seriously, staying in Manhattan where welcoming shopping stores are around, she just couldn’t resist. But she tried! So there comes her hilarious excuses again and all, and of course, when you read the first series, now you’ll get the picture. She just would do anything. But as much as she keeps me laughing all the time, I couldn’t help but really feel sorry for her downfalls every time. I love Becky and I hate it when one day she’s at the top of her game, and the next… everyone is turning her down. I mean, she makes mistakes. She can be careless at times, but she doesn’t deserve to be treated as a joke by everybody else. I immensely love Becky not just because she makes me laugh, but because she’s also a character to admire. She’s a strong woman, and at the end she didn’t fail me because she tried to fix every single mistake she did.

And unmistakably, Sophie Kinsella is such a delicate writer! I commend her skills of writing such a light, funny, fast-paced and inspiring piece which will lighten your mood after a bad day. I am thankful for her for a Rebecca Bloomwood, because she’s such an inspiration! I totally missed her the second I finished the book, and I sure will complete reading the whole series! 😀

Ratings:

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


Review by:
Photobucket
Please don’t forget we’re participating on Splash into Summer Giveaway Hop


2 responses to “[Review] Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella

  1. I LOVE Sophie Kinsella and I loved this book. I think one of my favorite parts is where she hooks up with the tour group and they were talking about the historic landmark, a place where people worshipped and she thought it was Saks Fifth Ave instead of St Patrick's. I had a laugh to myself on a recent trip to New York City when I stepped out of Saks and St Patrick's was right across the street..this book was my first thought =o)

Leave a Reply

