[Interview] Julie Kagawa Author of The Iron Fey Series


As we celebrate the cover reveal of The Iron Knight the 4th Installment of The Iron Fey Series which will be released October 25th, 2011

Julie Kagawa was generous enough to allow us to have an Interview!




What book(s) influenced you on writing The Iron Fey series?

While writing the Iron King, I deliberately avoided reading any books that were fey related; I didn’t want to unconsciously copy them.  But I will say that fantasy books like Lord of the Rings and The Sword of Shannara did shape my early teenage years, and made me want to write like them.

Can you do spoilers for The Iron Knight? Pretty please. If not then it’s ok. At least give me a Puck teaser instead for Summer’s Crossing? 😀

Lol, my editor would kill me if I gave away anything about the Iron Knight.  How about a Summer’s Crossing snippet instead?

“Once upon a time, I had two close friends.  Shocking, I know, given my natural charm, but there are those who just don’t appreciate my brilliance.  We weren’t supposed to be friends, the three of us, or even friendly with each other.  I was part of the Seelie Court, and they…weren’t.  But I’d never been one for following the rules, and who knew Queen Mab’s youngest son could be such a rebel as well?  And Ariella… I’d known Ash a long time before Ariella came into the picture, but I never begrudged her presence.  She was the buffer between us; the one who could calm Ash when he slipped too far toward his ruthless Unseelie nature, or advised caution when one of my plans seemed a little…impulsive.  Once upon a time, we were inseparable.
  

Once upon a time, I did something stupid.  And lost them both in the process.”

How do you plan to end the series? Is The Iron Knight the last book?

That, unfortunately, is spoiler talk, which I’ve been threatened under punishment of…something nasty…not to reveal.  😉  As for Knight being the last book, I might return to the world of the Iron Fey sometime in the future.  As of now, however, I have a new series I’m working on.

What are your future plans after writing The Iron Fey Series?

How wonderful of you to ask! 😀 Right now I’m working on a new YA series set in a post-apocalyptic world. With vampires.

What is the best thing that has happened to you since becoming a published author?

Well, twice now, a perfect stranger has come up to me and said “OMG, you’re Julie Kagawa! I love your books!” We authors live for those moments.

Personally, who’s your most favorite character in the book? How about the least favorite?

My favorite would have to be Ash, because I love dark, broody bad boys who can wield pointy objects. I don’t really think I have a least favorite. I love all my characters, in one way or another.

 Can you list down at least 5 Random Facts about You, your characters or anything about writing the book?

  • I grew up on a farm. With dogs, cats, rabbits, goats, ducks, chickens, geese, pigs, and a horse.
  • That farm was only one acre.
  • Ash is partly based on several anime and video game characters. Squall Leonhart and Heero Yuy being the two most prominent. (Yes, I am a geek.)
  • My favorite food is sushi.
  • I was a dog trainer before I became a full-time writer.
Make sure to download Summerss Crossing for a limited time at: Harlequin Teen


Also check out our review of The Iron Queen here
Photobucket
5 responses to “[Interview] Julie Kagawa Author of The Iron Fey Series

  1. I love the interview!! 😀 I can 'feel' something…a sliver hope. I have a feeling it has something to do with..The Iron Knight. And I have a feeling there's more to it. Hahaha! Cryptic much? Thanks for the post!

  2. This interview was great! It got right to the point lol. I loved all of her answers! I just started The Iron Fey series so I'm SO excited for the Iron Knight! Great interview! ;)~Loren

  3. I interviewed Julie, too– though I didn't have the courage to pump her for spoilers as you guys did! Bravo! 😀 I loved the excerpt from Summer's Crossing… have to order that one. And of course the Iron Knight cannot come fast enough. Great interview. 🙂

Leave a Reply

