[A Week Long Guest Post] Urban Fantasy Book Genre by Bookluvr Mindy

Welcome to the Fourth Day of A Week Long Guest Post!

We have here Bookluvr Mindy of Magical Urban Fantasy Reads is talking about Urban Fantasy Book Genre.
The floor is yours!

Bookluvr Mindy’s Urban Fantasy Obsession

I chose Urban Fantasy as my topic for my guest post with We Fancy Books because this is by far my favorite genre.  My preference is YA Urban Fantasy, and, if romance is included, that’s a major plus for me (he,he,he.)

Urban Fantasy is a sub-genre of Fantasy that takes place in the real world but includes fantasy elements.  The Urban Fantasy books I’ve read almost always include at least a few of the following characters:  Vampires, Werewolves, Shape-Shifters, Aliens, Angels, Fallen Angels, Nephilim, Greek Gods, Faeries, Pixies, Wraiths, Warlocks, Wizards, Witches, Sirens, Zombies, Demons and Succubus.  Whew!  I hope I included everything!

When I was younger I struggled in a major way with my reading.  I would actually get really bad grades in school because I had such ahard time with my reading and comprehension.  And, since comprehension has such a high importance in just about every subject in school, I had a horrible time trying to pass each year!

So, in my early teens, my parents put me first into a special reading program for three months and then into a private school (in high school.)  And from that point forward, I aced all of my classes.

But I only did a little bit of reading here and there and never found any book or story that kept my interest very long or fanned the flames of my current reading obsession.  That all changed, however, during my senior year of High School (1998/ 1999) when I was introduced to the Harry Potter, and from then on I was hooked!  Yep, I actually became one of those obsessed people who would wait in line at the book store hours before midnight for the next Harry Potter release!

Between each Harry Potter book and even after I finished the entire series, I still only did a little bit of reading here and there until, that is, I read Twilight and the Twilight series!  And, of course, you’ll find me at the midnight release of every Twilight movie!  I do love the romance in this series, but if someone were to ask me if I would prefer to meet the cast of Twilight OR, instead, meet Stephenie Meyer, I would prefer to meet Stephenie Meyer over ANY Twilight actor…HANDS DOWN!  (Uh, but I do have the hots for Kellan Lutz!)

So, I finally realized that the Urban Fantasy genre is my fave.  And, once I did, my book reading obsession took off!  What I really love about Urban Fantasy is that you are able to picture life how it is now, but include some fictional creatures running around behind the scenes.  Urban Fantasy is my stress reliever, an escape from reality.

I tell people all the time that I am extremely left brained and I have no imagination.  But Urban Fantasy gives the left side of my brain abreak and takes me to the creative world that my favorite authors have created.

I tend to fall in love with just about every guy hero in each Urban Fantasy book.  One time I even had a very vivid dream about my favorite love, Jace, from The Mortal Instruments series!  In fact, I have such strong feelings for Jace and for how he appears in my imagination that I am one of those obsessive fans who are very upset with the casting of Jace for The City of Bones movie!

Here are some of the UF series that I can whole-heartedly recommend:

·         Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

·         Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

·         The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

·         The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

·         The Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine

·         House of Night by P.C. Cast

·         Evernight by Claudia Gray

·         The Dark Divine by Bree Despain

·         Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

·         Need by Carrie Jones

·         Lure by Stephanie Jenkins

·         Released by Megan Duncan

·         Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout

·         Anathema by K.A. Tucker

I want to personally thank We Fancy Books for asking me to do a guest post. This was fun!

Bookluvr Mindy

What can you say about Urban Fantasy books? are you a fan of this genre?
A big THANKS to Bookluvr Mindy for participating on this feature *waves*

If you’d like to participate on A Week Long Guest Post
Find all about it here
2 responses to “[A Week Long Guest Post] Urban Fantasy Book Genre by Bookluvr Mindy

  1. I was one of those people queuing up at midnight for Harry Potter, too! My mum's boyfriend for the releases of the last three books loved the series too and would take me along to wait. Harry Potter was one of my first pushes into 'full-time' reading for me, as well. I usually read one book every few months or so but then I picked the series up and couldn't stop. UF is such a good genre. Excellent post!

Leave a Reply

