[A Week Long Guest Post] Paranormal Book Genre by Inga Kupp

Welcome to  A Week Long Guest Post!

We have here Inga Kupp of Me and Reading is talking about Paranormal Book Genre.
The floor is yours!

Paranormal reading

Couple of weeks ago I heard a question, which I really liked. That was: Is Paranormal the New Normal?

If you look at the best seller charts or read about the statistics which books are most popular amongst young adults, there is definitely no question about it – Paranormal IS the New Normal.
One of my favorite genres is Paranormal Romance and this goes both young adult ad adult books.

What does paranormal mean? I have actually been asked this question several times when I have been talking about reading, books, authors and it has surprised me. Why?
Paranormal literature includes everything which is not considered as being human. The actual word paranormal means not normal at all, it is everything which is aside being normal. Confusing, huh?

I guess when you read this blog post, you are definitely aware of what paranormal means. The confusing part for me here is that for me personally paranormal is normal, because I love books from paranormal genre, always have. I absolutely adore good paranormal books, where you have non-human creatures like vampires, fairies, werewolves, shifters, witches, mages, giants – you name it and I like it! It’s like advanced fairy tales for me. These stories also give a good and positive escape from the everyday live and let your fantasy fly!

Paranormal genre gives endless possibilities to write stories, because only the author’s fantasy can be the limit. Of course, the story has to have some believable content as well. It’s not enough to have only paranormal creatures, but the story and the development of the story and characters is very important.

My favorite books within the paranormal genre are paranormal romances. A good love story with interesting characters is a joy to read. Luckily lots of good paranormal books have been published during the last decade and there have been many paranormal books which I have read and reviewed. To mention a few: Raven by Indie author Suzy Turner, which a fantastic young adult book; Spellbound by Cara Lynn Shultz which is also highly recommendable young adult book. Of course, Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series is an absolute must to read for a person who loves a good paranormal romance.

My favorite adult paranormal series is Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris, which is the best series I’ve read so far. I absolutely love Charlaine Harris’ books! Another good adult paranormal series is Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward.

So my question to you is, if the paranormal is a nee normal? What do you think?


What can you say about Paranormal books? are you a fan of this genre?
A big THANKS to Inga Kupp for participating on this feature *waves*

If you’d like to participate on A Week Long Guest Post
Find all about it here
2 responses to “[A Week Long Guest Post] Paranormal Book Genre by Inga Kupp

  1. Paranormal really is becoming the new normal, isn't it? As a writer, paranormal would be really fun to write because you can play on your own reality. I still read from this genre but not nearly as much as I used to. I'm definitely going to have to start dipping back into the paranormal, again. Great post (:

Leave a Reply

