[Review] The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross

The Girl in the Steel Corset

by Kady Cross
Publication Date: May 24, 2011
Hardcover, 480 pages
Publisher: Harlequin; Original edition


In 1897 England, sixteen-year-old Finley Jayne has no one except the thing inside her. When a young lord tries to take advantage of Finley, she fights back. And wins. But no normal Victorian girl has a darker side that makes her capable of knocking out a full-grown man with one punch.

Only Griffin King sees the magical darkness inside her that says she’s special, says she’s one of them. The orphaned duke takes her in from the gaslit streets against the wishes of his band of misfits. Emily, who has her own special abilities and an unrequited love for Sam, who is part robot; and Jasper, an American cowboy with a shadowy secret.
 Griffin’s investigating a criminal called The Machinist, the mastermind behind several recent crimes by automatons. Finley thinks she can help and finally be a part of something, finally fit in. But The Machinist wants to tear Griff’s little company of strays apart, and it isn’t long before trust is tested on all sides. At least Finley knows whose side she’s on, even if it seems no one believes her.


Goodreads

My Thoughts?

It was a good book. I finished it after all. It was lovely too because of the mysterious atmosphere that surrounds it. I love mystery, and the action is just icing on the cake.
I think that this book has so many interesting ideas. But because of so many ideas, I find it now confusing on which part should be focused. Each one of the characters has special abilities, and I think that the lady protagonist has the most intriguing one but I was disappointed that it wasn’t that much highlighted. Seriously, I would have loved to read more about her to understand how her abilities work. There are scenes in which I get confused as to who I’m reading. This is probably because I haven’t read the prequel of this book? I heard there was one.
Don’t get me wrong but as much as this is Victorian England, I couldn’t help but imagine animes (the animation from Japan, yeah that) while reading this book. I don’t know but it gives me that feeling. I think it’s a good sign too because I love anime. It’s just that they are so into this certain mystery (that is related to their histories, by the way) and while in the process of uncovering the unknown, they have created a bond in such a way that could change the lives of each and everyone. And I appreciate it.
The characters here are likable, of course, but there was this notorious Dandy that I couldn’t help to admire. Sure he isn’t one of the main characters but I bet that he’s one of the most important. I couldn’t help but mention him. His character is so dangerously beautiful. If this is a spoiler, forgive me, but I would’ve loved to see him really hook up with the dark part of the lead lady.
You know what I think? You should read it too. And then you would see for yourself.   

Ratings:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Review by:
Photobucket

4 responses to “[Review] The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross

Leave a Reply

