[A Week Long Guest Post] To Trailer or Not to Trailer


Welcome to A Week Long Guest Post today Frances Pauli is talking about Book Trailers!
Ok Frances the floor is yours!

To Trailer or Not to Trailer
by
Frances Pauli



A few years back I started to hear a lot about book trailers. They were the new thing, back then, and the buzz had reached something of adull roar. There were a lot of mixed feelings about the phenomenon, and a good percentage of the “experts” all went, “Yeah, no.”

They like to do that. I believe they had the same response to e-books around the same time. Go figure. But they made some good points. I, for one, was a big fan of movie trailers, and I just couldn’t see their application for print media. I’m happy to say that no one listened to me.

Book trailers are still around, and while they may not have continued to swell in popularity, you can’t really stumble around book circles without tripping over them eventually.

I suspect the recurring argument against them is: “There’s no evidence at all that they increase sales.” And to that I have to say, “So what?” I mean, sales are good don’t get me wrong, but does everything an author does have to produce measurable sales? Can’t we, sometimes, add a little something to the book—just for fun? I certainly hope so. I like the idea of putting out bonus material, extras and bells and whistles just because the reader might enjoy them.

In the end, that’s why I ended up making four book trailers. Because, after the first one (which was an accident—I swear) I figured out that it was fun to do. I like making them. They make me smile. I don’t need any better reason, particularly if they make at least one reader smile too.

So now that I’m hooked, I’m curious about what you all think. Do readers love or hate the infamous book trailer? Which side of the fence are you on and why? Does it depend on the individual trailer? (Personally, I’ve seen some that make 1970’s stag films look like Oscar winners) What makes a good trailer or a hideous trailer, in your book?

Thanks so much for having me on the blog today. Feel free to tear at my little trailer efforts too. They can be found at:http://www.youtube.com/user/FrancesPauli?feature=mhee
And more info on my writing and books at: http://francespauli.com

What can you say about Book Trailers? Do you like Book Trailers? What are your favorite Book Trailers? We would love to hear from you.
A big THANKS to Frances Pauli for participating on this feature *waves*If you’d like to participate on A Week Long Guest PostFind all about it here
3 responses to “[A Week Long Guest Post] To Trailer or Not to Trailer

  1. To be perfectly honest, I don't understand them. It's seemingly as if the book is trying to be turned into a work of visual art just to garner more attention, which, to me, completely turns the idea of a book on its head. I read because I want to imagine things myself, because the story is captivating. The only trailer for me is an excerpt.

  2. Thanks for commenting Kaye. A real part of me agrees with you. Honestly, at first I wanted nothing to do with the idea. 🙂 I think the process of creating the little movie is what turned out to be so much fun for me. But I get where you're coming from too. I think there's another whole discussion to be had on how intertwined the arts are becoming with digital media and the pros and cons of blending them. Thanks so much for a thoughtful and honest comment, and thanks to the blog host for having me on. *waves back* Frances

  3. For one, they really aren't movies, but a series of still images overlaid with text. At best, trailers are a visual blurb, describing print media. Do trailers convey any better message than the book blurb? A potential reader can digest a blurb in seconds.Sure, if you want to make a hobby out of making trailers, go for it. The time it takes to cull through collections, finding the still images, constructing the trailer and overlaying the text can be better used to write, if nothing else. As you said, there is no evidence of trailers leading to increased sales.

Leave a Reply

