[Review] Misfit by Jon Skovron

Misfit
by Jon SkovronHardcover, 382 pages
Expected publication: August 1st 2011 by Amulet

Jael Thompson has never really fit in. She’s changed schools too many times to count. The only family she’s ever known is her father, a bitter ex-priest who never lets her date and insists she attend the strictest Catholic school in Seattle. And her mother—well, she was a five thousand year old demon. That doesn’t exactly help.

But on her sixteenth birthday, her father gives her a present that brings about some unexpected changes. Some of the changes, like strange and wonderful powers and the cute skater boy with a knack for science, are awesome. But others, like the homicidal demon seeking revenge on her family? Not so much. Steeped in mythology, this is an epic tale of a heroine who balances old world with new, science with magic, and the terrifying depths of the underworld with the ordinary halls of high school.

-Goodreads

My Thoughts

A well plotted story that has the twist and turns that definitely want you asking for me. An amazing read!

Misfit is really good the moment I read the first two chapters of it I got really into it. It has this scary feeling while reading it like really make me feel scared in a good way because it was written and plotted so well that you can’t help but get into it and gasp every chapter your reading it. One of the few things I like about this book is how the story is told, it has the usual back to past then back to present kind of telling which I find not annoying for the first time since I’ve read some of a few books that have this kind of telling and it kind of bored me. This book is very different from other paranormal books out there and I really believe it stands out among of all; the story as I said is well plotted. With the mix of different characters and all the demons this book is one of a kind. While reading this I’m constantly looking at the book cover asking myself does the cover has something to do with the story? And then it struck me while reading it! Alas it has something to do with the story and you should really find out why!

At the beginning of the story I really thought that it was just like a normal book with a whole teenage drama thing that has problem fitting in, providing that I didn’t read the synopsis lol my bad. But then it turned out really good while reading it, the story of Jael Thompson and her journey of finding who she really is, is a great mystery for me that made me want to read more. All the characters in this book has played its part with the whole story, minor and even major character has worked its way for me for getting to know more of the story which I find really effective cause you can never forget one single character depending on how little his/her part it. One thing I don’t like is that Uncle Dagon being this poor little servant of Hell, I mean hello he should be a bad-ass uncle since he’s a demon king fish. But all in all the characters are all good! 

Misfit is a book that will have you grip and grasp from your seat, a book that can send you being scared while reading it. A dark and twisted plot that you’ll want more of it the moment you read it. You’ll find yourself being attach to every character in the book specially Jael Thompson and who she really is. I never thought I could care for each of the characters more and yes with her mother. All in all it was a great read!

Ratings:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Review by:Photobucket

2 responses to “[Review] Misfit by Jon Skovron

  1. Oh how I love the name of your blog. I fancy books, too. I always wonder at the people who don't read. What do they do? How do they feel their soul? New GFC follower.Blessings,Pamela

Leave a Reply

