[Review] Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson

Ultraviolet

by R.J. Anderson
Publication Date: 
Expected Publication: Jun 2011
Hardcover, 416 pages
Publisher: Orchard

Once upon a time there was a girl who was special.

This is not her story.

Unless you count the part where I killed her.

Sixteen-year-old Alison has been sectioned in a mental institute for teens, having murdered the most perfect and popular girl at school. But the case is a mystery: no body has been found, and Alison’s condition is proving difficult to diagnose. Alison herself can’t explain what happened: one minute she was fighting with Tori — the next she disintegrated. Into nothing. But that’s impossible. Right?


Goodreads

My thoughts?

I so love the book. I was so intrigued. I had no idea what this book was going to be all about honestly, well except the synopsis probably. But then again, I am so glad I just read it.

Well I did mention about not exactly knowing what this is all about, I thought this would just be another scary mind trick that might lead our protagonist into oblivion and proves that we’re just reading a guilty mind’s point of view. So at some point, due to the many crazy movies and books I’ve read that somehow made the protagonists actually the guilty ones, I can’t figure out what’s really to believe. This is such a book that would bring you to thinking.

There were moments in the first part when I think of just not reading the rest but it’s always going to be overruled by the thought of some bigger stuffs has yet to happen. Somehow, I was hopeful that I haven’t been to the most important thing yet. So I couldn’t really stop reading this. And then there comes the exciting part that made me so glad I continued reading.

It was crazy, well how charming to use such a word to such a novel that has been talking about things that involves the “fragile” mind in such a way that would show insanity as easy as it can be attained and as evident when being judged. What Alison had gone through scares me  and would probably drive me insane if I was ever on her shoes. I mean what Alison has is kind of amazing, I guess. I would have never thought that such ability exists. It might as well be an extraordinary power or something. But I wouldn’t really want to be anything like it. I could just imagine how much trouble and hardships she had gone through because of it.

I was actually reading this with the idea that this might not be only a science fiction book. I was thinking, or probably hoping more like it, that this was more of it. And of course it was. I obviously did not realize that this was a genre-bending paranormal young adult novel.

But at some point, when things got unraveled one by one, I had still my guard up. I feel like there’d still be more revelations that will happen. You’ll have that carved in your mind until the end of it. It was also beautifully written by R.J. Anderson. There were words said that made me appreciate… things. And how it ended, I feel like there should be a second book. I don’t know but somehow, even though the ending was “it”, I just wanted to find out more and read more about Faraday and his amazing purple eyes. Now that would probably be a spoiler and you hate it when stuffs get spoiled. But I felt like it was a cliffhanger of an ending.

I still love it. It’s a real must read.

Ratings:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Review by:

Photobucket

7 responses to “[Review] Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson

  1. Wow, I was considering reading this but kind of put it aside because the synopsis reminded me of Jennifer's Body, or something like that. I think I'll add it to my reading pile just because of your review. I do love myself a good sci-fi (and you have to admit the cover is pretty great). Thanks!

  2. I have this one on my Kindle from NetGalley. I've been holding off on reading it as the publishing date there is a bit later. Still, I've heard such good things about it and I've been a fan of her writing for years that I think I'll end up agreeing with much of what you said!

Leave a Reply

