[Review] Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

Can You Keep A Secret?
by Sophie Kinsella

Mass Market Paperback, 400 pages
Published December 27th 2005 by Dell 


Meet Emma Corrigan, a young woman with a huge heart, an irrepressible spirit, and a few little secrets: Secrets from her boyfriend: I’ve always thought Connor looks a bit like Ken. As in Barbie and Ken. Secrets from her mother: I lost my virginity in the spare bedroom with Danny Nussbaum while Mum and Dad were downstairs watching Ben-Hur. Secrets she wouldn’t share with anyone in the world: I have no idea what NATO stands for. Or even what it is. Until she spills them all to a handsome stranger on a plane. At least, she thought he was a stranger.…Until Emma comes face-to-face with Jack Harper, the company’s elusive CEO, a man who knows every single humiliating detail about her…

Goodreads


My thoughts?

How could I not love Sophie Kinsella? She’s extremely creative, unique, and just brilliant! She’s the one who made me love chick-lit novels, and I’m very grateful being able to read her books. She’s sooo hilarious and I wanna meet her one day.

First of, this is a great deal of laughter! Just when they say first impressions last, the second I read the first page, I know I’m going to read it throughout. The premise is engaging, and is really one of a kind! I’ve also read the first few books of the Shopaholic series (and I’m not gonna miss the rest of the installment), and at first, I thought there are some resemblance between Rebecca (from Shopaholic) and Emma (from this book) and I had doubts that Emma will ever channel a totally different character. But nooo, they’re unique in their own different way, and just as funny! I had high expectations that this will be something new and refreshing, and actually, I enjoyed it! As sympathetic as I can be for Emma because she lies all the freaking time, I just can’t get enough of the humor her tactless babbling mouth speaks! It’s just remarkable.

Surely, there are too many scenes that made me laugh out loud (literally, everyone around me stares) and I know I wouldn’t forget ever! Like when they raided Jemima’s wardrobe, and they were very careful they thought she made traps (and she really did), and when Emma pretends to like crochet, and just everything! I thought the love story is really good too! I love a bit of adult material in terms of romance, because love at first sight thingys or cheesy teenage lines and plotlines are bit freaking me out. Their love story is a perfect mix and Jack is pretty adorable, I must say! The progression about Emma is also something that I want to commend. Sophie Kinsella creates characters who starts with a lousy, peccable behaviors at first, but you’ll be very pleased how they change and transit into a better one.

Another lighthearted read that I totally enjoyed, the humor is irresistible and utterly captivating!

Ratings:


PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


Review by:


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 responses to “[Review] Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

  1. Oh, I love love love Sophie Kinsella's books. She's such a fantastic author and I can't wait for her to publish more books. Which also reminds me to read the books she's published as Madleine Wickham. Love your review as well. It's great to see other people enjoying her books. :)Carina

  2. Oh my gosh! I read this book way back before I started blogging but I know exactly what you mean!I swear I became bi-polar when I read this book! Haha! There were scenes where I was dying of laughter; other scenes where I just wanted to rip the book apart and in the midst of all of this, my sisters looked at me like I was INSANE! LOLSophie Kinsella is amazing! This book is too cute! LOVE it!

  3. I too read it recently and loved it.. i am yet to read the shopaholic series but I am sure I will love it.. I had read 'undomestic goddess' and was a tad disappointed with 'can you keep a secret'.. but as you said the humor got me glued to the book!

Leave a Reply

