[Review] Spellbound by Cara Lynn Shultz


Spellbound




by Cara Lynn Shultz
Publication Date: 
Expected Publication: June 21st 2011
Hardcover, 352 pages
Publisher: Harlequin, Original edition

Life hasn’t been easy on sixteen-year-old Emma Conner, so a new start in New York may be just the change she needs. But the posh Upper East Side prep school she has to attend? Not so much. Friendly faces are few and far between, except for one that she’s irresistibly drawn to—Brendan Salinger, the guy with the rock-star good looks and the richest kid in school, who might just be her very own white knight.

But even when Brendan inexplicably turns cold, Emma can’t stop staring. Ever since she laid eyes on him, strange things have been happening. Streetlamps go out wherever she walks, and Emma’s been having the oddest dreams: visions of herself in past lives—visions that warn her to stay away from Brendan. Or else.



Goodreads

My Thoughts?



It was a pretty good book. Yes, pretty story and good book.

Truthfully, I had no idea what I was reading. It started with a typical new girl, Emma, trying to survive her new school, the prominent Vincent Academy that teaches the rich and famous high schoolers of the city, and stuffs like that. Well for me though I personally hoped for something bigger. So I kind of took the title, Spellbound, literally. But it was a little hard to continue thinking about love fantasy for this book because everything just seemed normal. The guy was really hot and gorgeous and the girl fell for him because of the written description. Not that it made the book any less interesting. I am so cool with the typical bad boy and new girl story, even though it’s cliché. But I mean there are stuffs where you’d really want to see, or read rather, something extra ordinary… or that’s just probably me considering that that’s the genre I’ve kind of been reading for the past few days.

I wasn’t really disappointed. I hoped for something “not natural” and I kind of had it. Only it wasn’t that intense or wasn’t that striking. I seriously liked the idea of reincarnated lovers, ops that sounded like a spoiler but anyway, it’s really interesting for me. And well you’d think of something mystical about it too at the beginning so I’d say it wasn’t really that a waste. Maybe it’s just me hoping for something more. But I really like it though. Just not enough.

I mean really, Brendan sure looks, in my head, hot and he’s worth swooning for. It’s usually what we like in the book. The prince charming. But anyway I’d hope for a sequel for this. Because I feel like it sounded like that at the last part. I want to read more of it. And probably there’d be more action and magic. 
Ratings:

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


Review by:


Photobucket
One response to “[Review] Spellbound by Cara Lynn Shultz

Leave a Reply

