[Review] The Duke and I by Julia Quinn

The Duke and I (Bridgerton Series, #1)

by Julia Quinn
Publication Date: January 5, 2000
Hardcover, 384 pages
Publisher: Avon

Can there be any greater challenge to London’s Ambitious Mamas than an unmarried duke?
— Lady Whistledown’s Society Papers,
 April 1813

By all accounts, Simon Basset is on the verge of proposing to his best friend’s sister, the lovely—and almost-on-the-shelf—Daphney Bridgerton. But the two of them know the truth–it’s all an elaborate plan to keep Simon free from marriage-minded society mothers. And as for Daphne, surely she will attract some worthy suitors now that it seems a duke has declared her desirable.

But as Daphne waltzes across ballroom after ballroom with Simon, it’s hard to remember that their courtship is a complete sham. Maybe it’s his devilish smile, certainly it’s the way his eyes seem to burn every time he looks at her…but somehow Daphne is falling for the dashing duke…for real! And now she must do the impossible and convince the handsome rogue that their clever little scheme deserves a slight alteration, and that nothing makes quite as much sense as falling in love…


Goodreads
My Thoughts?
So it doesn’t always happen that I read adult romance novels. I mean sure I have read some of them before but I have settled for young adult fantasy. But this book was actually really pretty. It was nothing but elegance and beauty of the 1800 England.
Well honestly, I had no idea, once again, that this was an adult romance novel. Jeesh I say it like there’s something wrong with it. Anyway, I hadn’t had the slightest bit of a clue that this was also written more than a decade ago. This could’ve been very well be almost as old as me.
As I’ve said it was beautifully written. There’s a slight touch of an intrigue and seriously, there’s a Lady Whistledown character that entertains me at some point. She’s not the lead here, but somehow she could be as well one of the main characters. She’s kind of the 1800 gossip girl or something. It was really interesting.
This book too gave me the picture of the life from before. Well yes, it centers in London, but kind of enough to show that the “ambitious mamas” exist to marry off their young daughters. I swear I would not want to be born as a woman at that point in time. They had so many responsibilities and honestly, I feel like they are also stupid in a sense that well they are ignorant.
That’s another advantage for this book too. It could give you somewhat a picture of from before with the touch of passion and romance. It’s pretty nice actually. And the credits of course all goes to Julia Quinn. Her writing is really good. It gives me smile every time. I’d probably be reading the rest of the Bridgerton series. There are characters from this first installation of the series that I happen to be interested at. Maybe I could mention Colin Bridgerton or whatever. Ha.

Ratings:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Review by:

Photobucket

6 responses to “[Review] The Duke and I by Julia Quinn

Leave a comment