[Review] Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder

Inside Out

by Maria V. Snyder
Paperback, 315 pages
Published April 1st 2010 by Harlequin


I’m Trella. I’m a scrub. A nobody. One of thousands who work the lower levels, keeping Inside clean for the Uppers. I’ve got one friend, do my job and try to avoid the Pop Cops. So what if I occasionally use the pipes to sneak around the Upper levels? The only neck at risk is my own…until I accidentally start a rebellion and become the go-to girl to lead a revolution.


Goodreads
My thoughts?

With a stunning cover and interesting synopsis, I found every reason to read this book. It also happens that Across The Universe, which is one of my favorites, is often compared to this, so without a doubt I knew I’m gonna give it a shot.

The thing is, maybe I should have expected it to be a little complicated. Or was it just me? Okay, I may not have the most creative, extensive and flexible imagination, so I had to google unfamiliar things which I have no idea how they look like from time to time. Maybe I’m just a sucker in these kinds of matter — since it’s a sci-fi material, I want to visualize everything and I’m very keen on small details so I had a hard time digesting the whole thing. I almost gave up reading this because seriously, the first few chapters was like a mad rush of action scenes. Bu then, after postponing this for a few weeks, the quick paced events excited me.

Trella, born as a scrub who lives in the world of Inside and somewhat a loner, is one strong, admirable character to consider. This book with this kind of heroine is just what I’ve always wanted to dive in. She’s a firm, mature character who knows how to contain herself in different kinds of situation, yet surprisingly, she’s very brave and fearless. And as events went on, I was amazed how cleverly this book was described, and how characters stand their own identity. It’s packed with an extreme amount of action, and you will find yourself gripping hard, and holding your breath from exciting happenings. The romance is also well written, and I love how Trella and Riley had been dragged together in a romantic way, yet not losing the action and exciting aspect.

The ending was even more gripping, and definitely left a big room of expectations on the next book. I have read a few other dystopian and sci-fi ones, and having read this book, I guess I’m setting them into a new higher set of standards. They’re just really good! And, Inside Out is definitely one of them. Can’t wait to read Outside In!



Ratings:


PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


Review by:
5 responses to “[Review] Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder

  1. I liked this one too and am looking forward to reading the sequel during the school year. I have gotten quite into YA dystopian fiction over the past year, a genre I never thought I would enjoy

  2. I loved this book. I found Trella strong, adventurous and intelligent. However, I didn't really care for Outside In. The characters for me weren't as fleshed out amongst other things. It was a bit of a letdown.

Leave a Reply

