[Review] Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles

Leaving Paradise
by Simone Elkeles


Papeback, 303 pages
Published: April 1st 2007
Publisher: Flux

Nothing has been the same since Caleb Becker left a party drunk, got behind the wheel, and hit Maggie Armstrong. Even after months of painful physical therapy, Maggie walks with a limp. Her social life is nil and a scholarship to study abroad—her chance to escape everyone and their pitying stares—has been canceled.

After a year in juvenile jail, Caleb’s free . . . if freedom means endless nagging from a transition coach and the prying eyes of the entire town. Coming home should feel good, but his family and ex-girlfriend seem like strangers.

Caleb and Maggie are outsiders, pigeon-holed as “criminal” and “freak.” Then the truth emerges about what really happened the night of the accident and, once again, everything changes. It’s a bleak and tortuous journey for Caleb and Maggie, yet they end up finding comfort and strength from a surprising source: each other.

-Goodreads

My Thoughts:

Maggie fears the return of the one person that she hates the most, the person who’s responsible for her accident. Caleb Becker is happy to go home in Paradise after being in juvenile for over a year for a hit and run drunk driving that caused Maggie her limp. Both of them are out cast now in their school, will they find themselves in the midst of their difference? 

It’s a done deal! Simone Elkeles is now one of my favorite authors! Leaving Paradise for me is a master piece of a story, a story that will stay to you after you finish it. A story that is so great that you may wish that it will last forever. The story of Caleb and Maggie is a story that left me breathless while reading it, a one of a kind book that you should not dare to miss. It captured my heart the moment I read it and while finishing it it has left me breathless! A Wonderfully written story with characters that is so compelling you won’t stop reading it. It made me feel different kinds of emotion while reading it. I cannot express more how I like this book; it’s a story about redemption, hope and love. Definitely worth reading. 

Maggie and Caleb are such strong characters and that what I really like best. They fought all the stares of people looking down on them because of what happened. They have family problems, friend’s issues and a lot more to deal with but they overcome it all. All the characters are beautifully created; Mrs. Reynolds specifically is one of them. She is one woman that reminds me of my grandmother. I admire her because of her wisdom and with all the wise words that she told Maggie. She brought Maggie and Caleb together, she gave Caleb a chance in spite of what he’s had done to Maggie. 

Simone Elkeles has created a book that is hard to forget, a story that will stay with me forever. This story has a special mark in my heart now. This is one book that made me cry and cry the moment it finished and it rarely happens. Read it and I swear you won’t be disappointed.

Ratings:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Review by:


I just want to say Happy Release Day to Simone Elkeles <3today is the release of Chain Reaction the third installment of the Perfect Chemistry Series!
Chain Reaction (Perfect Chemistry, #3)
I swear I want to read this now!while waiting for your/my copy lets just watch the trailer of Chain Reaction 🙂

You can visit Simone’s YouTube Channel for more behind the scenes which is a total SQUEE!I love love love the Fuentes Brothers!
Also did a review for Perfect Chemistry in case you want to read what we have to say it’s here

Who’s your favorite brother? 
Me, totally love in love with Carlos ❤
“What happens when I break one of your fuckin’ rules?” No offense to Carlos fans but I was flipping with Carlos like really! lol I can’t wait to read/meet Luis Fuentes! who’s excited? 
Would love to hear from you 🙂
6 responses to “[Review] Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles

  1. SO YOU FINALLY READ THIS,HUH? NOW YIU HAVE TO GET RETURN TO PARADISE. I LOVE MRS. REYNLODS, SHE'S A GOOD OLD LADY. AS FOR THE FUENTES BROTHERS GO, I ALWAYS HAVE A SIFT SPOT FOR ALEX SINCE HE WAS THE FIRST ONE WE MET BUT I ALSO LOVE CARLOS TOO BECAUSE HES NOT AFRAID TO BE WHO HE IS AND HES MORE FUNNY AND MORE LAYBACK THAN ALEX.

Leave a Reply

