[Review] Matched by Ally Condie

Matched
by Ally Condie


Publisher Dutton Juvenile; First Edition edition (November 30, 2010)
Hardcover 384 pages


Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

-Goodreads

My Thoughts:
I wanted to read more of it! I honestly did not even realize I was already at the end! I wanted more!
I didn’t know anything about Ally Condie’s Matched. I had no idea what’s inside of the book. I’ve never actually read any reviews of it too. But one time when I was at the bookstore rummaging all the young adult books hoping to find something new to read, I saw Matched. They say not to judge a book by its cover but that’s a thing to not do when dealing with young adult novels. I thought the cover was beautiful. It actually glowed. And it made me want to read it at the instant. I didn’t even read any synopsis of it. Covers really do help in attracting readers.
The story was about Cassia. She lives in a Society where everything, I mean everything, is controlled by the Officials. Everything in her life was okay; at least that’s how she would like to see it, and being matched with her childhood friend Xander made it even better. But somehow, somebody pulled a prank with her when someone else’s face appeared in the microcard, which is supposed to contain all the details of the person matched with her. But when she actually looked at it, the face she saw was the face of someone else she new, Ky. Ky was another of her childhood friends, but a rather distant and quiet one. And she’s suddenly pulled by some invisible force into Ky even when she was already matched with Xander.
This was obviously some sort of a dystopian book. I mean I’ve read a handful of these kinds of stories in which everything and everyone are controlled by an authority or a higher official. It kind of actually makes me feel like a caged person when I was reading this. Of course, I’d feel like I’m one of those people who I’m reading that’s why I feel this way. Their society is rather very strict and very much controlled. And being defiant is like giving yourself a death wish or something. Living in a democratic place, a person like me would feel rather constrained and chained and just rebellious when you read about this people in the future who blindly follows anything the Officials say. But it’s not like it’s impossible because it might really happen somewhere in the future. Their society is a world of probability and everything is about statistics.
Cassia isn’t the strong willed heroine I usually get to read. She believes strongly in her Society’s good intentions but when she suddenly felt real love, I knew she’d fight for it. But the atmosphere of the story wasn’t so much of rebellion actually. It was more like of how Cassia finally opened her eyes and how she finally started to feel. It was a love story. It was romantic. It was something I’m scared to read the ending for it might be a sad one. But I didn’t even realize I was already at the last part.
I feel like there’d be something more of this. A sequel would be good. I knew there was one. It’s just that I want to know more and I obviously wanted something more wonderful as an ending.

Ratings:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Review by: 

3 responses to “[Review] Matched by Ally Condie

  1. I'm glad you liked Matched, but I really didn't get along with it. I loved the descriptions of the society they lived in; it seemed really detailed and well-crafted. It's just that I wanted to throttle Cassia for being so selfish and whiny!There is a sequel, it's called Crossed, I think.

Leave a Reply

