[Review] Circle Nine by Anne Heltzel

Circle Nine
by Anne Heltzel


Harcover, 272 pages
Published: September 13th 2011
Publisher: Candlewick Press (MA)


She knows only Sam, a mysterious teenage boy. He is her sole companion; her whole life. She was born, already a teenager, lying outside a burning building in soot-stained clothes, remembering nothing, not even her name. He showed her the necklace she had on, the one that named her: Abby. Sam brought her to live in his cave-palace, where he gives her everything she needs. He loves her. He protects her from the world outside, from everyone who wants to hurt them, like the denizens of Circle Nine, Dante’s deepest circle of hell. But even in a charmed, brand-new life like Abby’s, change will come. Sam falls ill. A new girl comes to stay, and Abby begins to question Sam’s devotion. With doubt comes emotional turmoil, changes in perception, and glimpses of her past identity. In this courageous psychological thriller, Abby tells the story of living her new life and discovering her old one, while grappling with an ever-changing reality.


-Goodreads
A world that is created with questions and doubt, it will keep your page turning and turning.

She doesn’t know anybody, all she knows is Sam. The mysterious boy who she knows is her only hope in finding the truth. Who she really is, and why doesn’t she remember anything from the past, not even her name. With only a necklace named her Abby, the only thing she can do is trust Sam. With Sam bringing in a new girl she started to question if Sam really loves her. With the glimpse of the past constantly reminding her that she knows her for a reason, Abby decided to look for the truth. 
My Thoughts 
Circle Nine is a very enjoyable read; I find the book really intriguing that’s why I kept turning the pages until I finished it. It follows the story of a girl who doesn’t know who she is, not even her name. All she knows is that her name is Abby basing on the necklace that she has. She met Sam on one and only person that she knows and only trust. Even if she doesn’t know Sam very well she trusted him with her life because it’s the only thing that she can do. Without knowing anyone who else can she trust? Sam has been a very kind person to Abby, everything she needs; Sam provides it for her. But then she started regaining memories of what has happened, she started asking questions which Sam doesn’t approve of. Whilst Sam is keeping secrets from her she decided to look for the truth on what really happened, why she doesn’t have the memory, who she really is. I like how the story revolves on how Abby tries to remember things; it gives the reader a point of view of someone who happens to have lost a memory, in a way I somehow imagine myself being like it. I may not say that it conveyed the proper emotions of but by just reading Abby’s point of view I think justice has been served right to the emotions that I’ve felt for Abby. The world building is really good, though I really wish that there is more emphasis on Circle Nine which is the title. 
That characters as well as the book is very much confusing. I like the character of Abby. With saying I think she’s one of the book characters that I really admire. If I was in her place figuratively speaking I would die, or maybe yet go nuts forever. Abby showed how strong she really is which I really admire, despite Sam being protective of her she didn’t just stopped there. She tried to ask questions and by asking she wants the truth. Even if it hurts Sam and herself in the process she decided to look for answers. I like Sam for just being Sam himself, but of course minus the complications. I love how he looks out for Abby; I genuinely feel for Sam because I think he really loves Abby and just wanted her to be safe. 
The cover is really good, I really like it. It shows how the book is really dark and with only a glimpse of the outside world is which is really good job on that but I really suggest a better cover art than this one. 
Overall I like this book; I really enjoyed the story and the characters while reading it. One thing I suggest is that I would really like to hear the point of view of Sam. What’s his purpose not saying the truth to Abby, what’s his reason on protecting Abby, does she really loves Abby. So many questions to be asked but I think this book is a standalone so I guess I just have to ask the author. I suggest this to you if you like a dark, thrilling and shocking read. This is a very dark and exciting debut that I suggest you should not miss out. I believe it’s worth the read.

Ratings:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Review by: 

Leave a Reply

