[Review] Torrent by Lisa Tawn Bergren

Torrent
by Lisa Tawn Bergren 

Publication Date: September 1st 2011 
Publisher: David C. Cook 
Format: Paperback, 400 pages 

When Gabi and Lia finally learn to surf the river of time, they realize they must make hard choices about life and love in the third and final book in the River of Time series. 

Gabi and Lia Betarrini have learned to control their time travel, and they return from medieval Italy to save their father from his tragic death in modern times.   But love calls across the centuries, and the girls are determined to return forever—even though they know the Black Plague is advancing across Europe, claiming the lives of one-third of the population. In the suspenseful conclusion of the River of Time series, every decision is about life … and death.  

-Goodreads

My Thoughts:

The only thing that is keeping me from finishing this book is the fact that this is the last instalment of the trilogy. I don’t seem to want to finish it. But no matter what, I still can’t help it. Every turn of the page makes me read it all in one sitting. Oh man this book is great. Just as how I know the other two books. Although of course this would have much more than the other two since this is the last one. I can’t believe I’ve finished it already.
Torrent, as I’ve mentioned, is the third book of Lisa Tawn Bergren’s The River of Time trilogy. Cascade has been so much of a cliff hanger and so I was anxious to read Torrent. A relief flooded through me when I got a gripped of the book because I so wanted to know what had become of Lord Greco. Okay and the story too. At this point, Gabi and Lia had learned to surf the river of time. After saving their father, they went back to the medieval time, and of course Gabi to the arms of her beloved Marcello.
Dude this thing is sooo cheesy and it made me actually want it the more. I mean sure I dig bad boy types but I still am a sucker for the gentlemen. And Marcello, oh Marcello is a one fine young nobleman. Not only because he’s rich but because he’s so into Gabi. And well he’s just gentlemanly. Something very difficult to find today. Maybe it’s because of that. But as much as I am happy for Gabi, having Lord Rodolfo Greco as the villain in love with the She-Wolf of Siena made my heart ache. Not that falling in love with Gabi was bad, it was just that because she was already intended for Marcello. I’ve grown into loving Rodolfo and I couldn’t bear to read him in such a way. Okay so I  might be exaggerating it. J
The story is so fast paced. Lisa might as well have mentioned something about bracing ourselves because well the story happened so fast. And I’m not complaining of course. I love the writing style. I can totally relate to every single word. The fact that she was able to combine the tough tongue of today’s language and the soft spoken words of the past is impressive. I really admire Lisa.
Well this is one of the best series that I have read. I knew this is an awesome trilogy even then when I only got to read Waterfall first. So yeah, if it wasn’t so obvious, I kind of didn’t want the series to end. It was like I really want to know what’s going to happen but at the same time I didn’t want to proceed to the ending while I was reading. I was torn. But blah I just had to read it.
And I wasn’t disappointed with the ending. Might be predictable yeah, but it’s something that I could just appreciate. I mean the book contained so much about the meaning of life. I’m almost as old as Gabi but because of her experiences, she appreciated what she had so much. And I might have not understood exactly the entire meaning of life, but I have a feeling like I’m close to it. This book is life. Well the meaning of life, more like it. It’s as though you’re also educated while you are enjoying it. Pretty awesome right?
You would surely understand more if you read it. I mean it would not be a waste because it’s amazing and all that. I even wish there was more of this so I could continue reading the series… and Lord Greco. (:




RATINGS


PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
REVIEWED BY

4 responses to “[Review] Torrent by Lisa Tawn Bergren

Leave a Reply

