[Review] Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist




by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
Publication Date: May 23, 2006
Publisher: Knopf Books
Format: Hardcover, 192 pages

So you’re a guy; you’re at a band show and your ex, the girl who dumped you, walks in with the new guy. Looking for a safe exit, you ask the girl you happen to sitting with to be your girlfriend for five minutes . You’re a girl; you’re at a get-together and your least favorite female strolls in. The stranger sitting next to you asks you to be his five-minute date. So what do you? You lock lips . Nick and Norah’s instant connect begins a roller-coaster “first date” that takes them through Manhattan and into themselves. A novel concept that works.
-Goodreads

My Thoughts?

If you’re looking for a thrill on a club filled with hot rockstarwanna-be’s don’t go out, just read this book. 
At first I thought this book is so dramatic that the author decided to put up a playlist for its entire emotional breakdown. Now that was me basing on the title (and I didn’t really read the plot at first).Now what made me read the book? The movie. No, I wasn’t able to watch it. Then why? Inside my head I have this equation: Movie Industry Decided To Make Movie Out of Book = Book Must Be Awesome. And so I gave it a shot. Now, on with my review.
 
Reading the first few pages, ive proved myself wrong. The novel is very far from emotional that it made me read its plot in goodreads. Though the synopsis above brought the most cliché information about the book, you’d be surprised if you would really find time to read it. Sure, boy meets girl in a disco bar where hormonal teen agers often meet. Sure, boy kisses girl to make ex jealous and girl is now into boy. Sure, they would hook up with each other. Then what? Now, this is where the book tells its story; a not so typical aftermath after the whole typical scenario. 
 
The writers did a creative job of connecting all the characters–stitching them together with events, tearing them apart with usual teenage indecisiveness and patching them up again with compromising lovey doveygesrtures. Despite the spiraling minds of the protagonists, the writers were able to expose the meanings behind their actions with clarity that you could feel the doubt and risk of making or breaking of a new relationship (in which im sure everyone can relate to). 
Though the story is a bit too much fast paced, it makes you wonder on what will happen next and what both teenagers had surprise choices for themselves; itswhat makes you keep on reading it—the oh-so-crazy heart-leaping events that could happen in one night!


Ratings:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


Review by

8 responses to “[Review] Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

  1. I enjoyed this one, although I didn't love it. I've read one of DL & RC's other books as well (Naomi & Ely's No Kiss List) and think I liked it a little better. They are a great team though, and I will say that I find I am loving these- all in one night books 🙂

Leave a Reply

