[Review] Possession by Elana Johnson

PossessionPossession

by Elana Johnson

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published: June 7th, 2011
Publisher: Simons & Schusters


Vi knows the Rule: Girls don’t walk with boys, and they never even thinkabout kissing them. But no one makes Vi want to break the Rules more than Zenn…and since the Thinkers have chosen him as Vi’s future match, how much trouble can one kiss cause? The Thinkers may have brainwashed the rest of the population, but Vi is determined to think for herself. 

But the Thinkers are unusually persuasive, and they’re set on convincing Vi to become one of them…starting by brainwashing Zenn. Vi can’t leave Zenn in the Thinkers’ hands, but she’s wary of joining the rebellion, especially since that means teaming up with Jag. Jag is egotistical, charismatic, and dangerous–everything Zenn’s not. Vi can’t quite trust Jag and can’t quite resist him, but she also can’t give up on Zenn. 

This is a game of control or be controlled. And Vi has no choice but to play.

-Goodreads

Amazon | Barnes & Nobles | Book Depository

It can hold you breathless the moment you dive into this wonderfully created world!

To start of this book has an awesome plot! It has been a wonderful read BUT it seems like that it was poorly written. This book is about rebellion, love, possession and a lot more. I was really expecting something more from this book since it created much more buzz before I even read this book so I started it with a lot more of expectation. But I ended up continuously asking myself what? What just happened? Who’s that character again? Errr like seriously? With the constant *raise eyebrows* I was utterly disappointed with reading this. Though I do find some good points about this book and I really think it should have more polished. I like the idea of Possession though it became complicated when it was added with the Thinker/Baddie/Goddies/Greenie/and other stuff I forgot. In every page turn the story change which will make readers really confused with how the story goes. All in all the plot needs more polishing, the concept is good but then the writing is somehow very much confusing me that it turns out that I had a hard time reading it.

Violet is a very fun character, I think has trust issues which I believe people can relate to, specially with Jag which she likes or maybe not but then she won’t trust truly because of the things the “voice” has been telling her. Jag is somehow confusing me too throughout his role is a big blur for me, though all I know is that he’s part of the rebellion and that he has a brother blah blah blah. Zenn is the match of Vi well not before Vi tried to be part of the rebellion and join her father. (To be honest I’m not really sure of this part) all in all the characters are very engaging, but with the character like this it surely needs a better plot/story to be in.

I really like the cover; it resembles the title of the book with a butterfly trapped in an ice cube. I find the cover very unique from other books and quite very simple but contrary to the cover the whole book is a big complication!

Over all I recommend this book to someone who has deep understanding to start with. As for me it didn’t quite get through me. The story and the character didn’t impact me very much; I’m still hoping to read the sequel which has just been revealed recently by Elana. The title of the sequel is SURRENDER! The book ended with a big blur for me and I’m really hoping that the next book has a redeeming factor. Give it a try and you might like it, I specially recommend this to you if you’re looking for a very different book to read.

Ratings:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Review by:

2 responses to “[Review] Possession by Elana Johnson

Leave a Reply

