[Review] Carrier of The Mark by Leigh Fallon

Carrier of The Mark
by Leigh Fallon

Publication Date: October 4th 2011

Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: Paperback, 342 pages

From the moment she sets foot at her new school in Ireland, Megan is inexplicably drawn to the darkly handsome Adam DeRis. But Megan soon discovers that her feelings for Adam are tied to a supernatural fate that was sealed long ago—and that the passion and power that unites them could be their ultimate destruction.

This electrifying debut novel was first discovered on inkpop.com. the online community for aspiring writers. THE CARRIER OF THE MARK sizzles with unbridled romance, a unique supernatural hook, and a breathtaking Irish setting, and will entice fans of the Need series by Carrie Jones and the House of Night series by P. C. and Kristin Cast.

-Goodreads

An astounding debut novel that will draw you in the moment you read it!

First of all this book is just awesome! It has a good story that would definitely want to make you read it till the end, it’s really fast paced and what can I say it’s magical The story revolves around Megan Rosenberg who transferred to Ireland because her father got a new job. Then she met the mysterious, hot and gorgeous Adam DeRis which started the whole story. I must say that I’m really drawn to this book while reading it; I think the information sufficed and enticed me the whole read. The element of this book is profound and has a great impact on me but I can say that this book has this flaw that was really obvious at least for me. I did enjoy the book at its potential but there are just things that you cannot hide from the readers and I think it didn’t hide much from me. This book has many potential for first time readers looking for a good read. Story wise it was really good and I credit Fallon for creating this wonderful world of Marked Ones. Few things in mind in reading this book is that the story has… too much information which is kind of hard to digest in one go. it’s good to say that even Megan had a hard time picking it up or so I think she does. Good thing about the whole plot that it was really original though I think I have heard of story but combined with the history and the bloodline stuff I think this book is jam packed with some minor flaw.

I honestly don’t w ant to do this but I have to. The character from this book is some kind of… unbalanced. I was kind it at awe when Adam which is a male character lashed out like a girl on one scene. Megan’s character has a little bit of love-hate from me, I think she needs to straighten her priority rather than swooning over first at Adam ALL THE TIME! I knew the draw to each other but it was overly done and the emphasis on lying to her best friend was exaggerated. I also want to point out that why would a best friend draw Megan more to Adam even if they hear some weird juju about the guy? I think I definitely want to do a best friend check for this one. Adam DeRis I can say is the male counterpart of Megan but was written in a girl’s POV which explains the girly lashing out. I think the characters need more to speak some general Irish words or rather at least emphasize on the Irish accent since the book is set on Ireland.

I think the cover of Carrier of The Mark is really one of a kind and I totally like it. The cover of this book is Megan which has the air element. I wonder what the next cover will be. Without asking I think I’ll pick this book because of the cover.

Overall this book is really enjoyable and I recommend it to everyone looking for a good read. Love + Elements? What could go wrong? And did I say that the setting for this book is Ireland? The story is really good that I think everyone should definitely read. You’ll find yourself drawn in and prepare to be blown away with a good read.

I received a review copy from Pinoy Book Tours for a blog tour and it has affected my review in any way.

RATINGS
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

BOOK TRAILER

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


I started out life in South Africa. A year later my parents moved home to Dublin, Ireland. When I was older and realized my parents had moved me from exotic Durban, to sedate Rathfarnham, Dublin 16, I was rightly ticked off. I fantasized about the amazing life I could have had in South Africa, and that fantastic accent that could have been all mine.
Instead, I got myself a fine Irish brogue growing up in the foothills of the Dublin Mountains where I went to a convent school and had to contend with uniforms, gabardines, and nuns.

During college I met a dashing sailor who swept me off my feet, all the way to Cork in the south of Ireland. I worked in corporate treasury and traveled Europe doing all sorts of fun finance stuff.

When I had my children I decided to take a career break, and soon discovered a love of writing. That career break became a career change when I wrote my debut novel, Carrier of the Mark.

I posted Carrier of the Mark on a HarperCollins website called inkpop. Within weeks it was voted into the top five books of thousands on the site, and was reviewed by a HarperTeen editor. Two months later that same editor offered me my first publishing contract.

My husband swept me off my feet again, this time in a westerly direction, we landed in Massachusetts, USA, where we now live with our four children and one double pawed cat.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 responses to “[Review] Carrier of The Mark by Leigh Fallon

  1. Understand your issues with the book. I really enjoyed it and wasn't too concerned with Adams freakout. My problem was with how the ending feels. Little worried about book 2.ValerieStuckInBooks.com

  2. I dont really know if i should read this book, because my sister read it and couldnt even finish it! she felt like it was soo similar to twilight, but i dunno. lOTS of people loved it so ill probably give it a chance.. Thanks for the review!Farah

  3. I really enjoyed this book, but like you I had issues with it.First of all the insta-love. Annoying. And then it was very twilight-esque, but I still really enjoyed it so I overlooked them for the most part and read on.Great review!

Leave a Reply

