[Review] Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay

Juliet Immortal
by Stacey Jay

Publication Date: August 9, 201

Publisher: Delacorte Books
Format: Hardcover, 320 pages
“These violent delights have violent ends And in their triumph die, like fire and powder,
Which as they kiss consume.”—Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

The most tragic love story in history . . .

Juliet Capulet didn’t take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn’t anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she’s fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she’s forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love.

-Goodreads



My thoughts?

There are just sooo many reasons why you should read this book. This is fureakin amazing. From the writing style, to the story itself, it’s like you’re watching a movie every single scene you will not want to miss. This is the kind of book I want to keep reading. I mean come on, I feel like I’m being offered with the same things every time I read young adult books right now. But these kinds of books offer a different feeling. It’s not the usual high school girl meeting the new jerk transferee dude kind of story.

I’m not familiar with Stacey Jay honestly. I’ve never actually read any of her stories before. But as I have read her Juliet Immortal, I knew I liked her writing style. The first few pages of the book did not allow me to stop. Oh no it didn’t. It must be because of the story too. It was Romeo and Juliet. Oh well we all love them. But well in this story apparently, Romeo is the evil jerk who killed his new wife. And he will have to battle with Juliet through eternity. But our little Juliet is not as easy to kill as we think. She’s real tough and she fell for another guy in this story. And Romeo, our dear Romeo would do everything to not give Juliet her happy ending.

I’m not going to continue the story because I would end up spoiling it for you. But really, I want to tell myself that I should have seen the twist coming. I should have seen it but I didn’t. Oh well. So I’m challenging you. You will know which part of the book I’m talking about when you read it. It will be fun.

But no matter how evil Romeo might appear in this story, I still like him. Okay so this is Stacey Jay against William Shakespeare. And well as much as I like Jay’s writing, I’m still a sucker for fairy tales. I’m a romantic I guess. I still want to believe in our dear Romeo.

So yeah I had to not sleep for a night because of this. And I think it’s worth it. This is really beautiful. I love it and I would want to read more of this. There’s a sequel to this as far as I could say. The title, they say, is Romeo Redeemed and I could not wait to read it. It is going to be on my most anticipated booklist. Because I so love it.  Ratings:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
Photobucket
ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Stacey Jay is a recovering workaholic (or at least working hard at recovering) with three pen names, two small children, and a passion for playing pretend for a living. She’s been a full time mom-writer since 2005 and can’t think of anything she’d rather be doing. Her former careers include theatre performer, professional dancer, poorly paid C-movie actress, bartender, waiter, math tutor (for real) and yoga instructor.

In her very limited spare time, Stacey enjoys cooking elaborate dinners and eating them very, every slowly, dressing up in costumes with her sons, and dancing like a total freak who all but the coolest of her friends are embarrassed to be seen with. You can write her email if you want. She’ll do her best to answer in a timely fashion and tell you thanks for reading.

2 responses to “[Review] Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay

  1. Oh this book was the death of me. I was so upset what the author did to my beloved Romeo! I have faith she will redeem him in a future book ( I hope) I loved the story, I thought it was very original the way she worked Shakespeare story but as I said I was heart broken on how Romeo was!

Leave a Reply

