[Review] Blood Red Road by Moira Young

Blood Red Road
by Moira Young

Publication Date: June 7th 2011
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
Format: Hardcover, 459 pages

Saba has spent her whole life in Silverlake, a dried-up wasteland ravaged by constant sandstorms. The Wrecker civilization has long been destroyed, leaving only landfills for Saba and her family to scavenge from. That’s fine by her, as long as her beloved twin brother Lugh is around. But when a monster sandstorm arrives, along with four cloaked horsemen, Saba’s world is shattered. Lugh is captured, and Saba embarks on an epic quest to get him back.
 Suddenly thrown into the lawless, ugly reality of the world outside of desolate Silverlake, Saba is lost without Lugh to guide her. So perhaps the most surprising thing of all is what Saba learns about herself: she’s a fierce fighter, an unbeatable survivor, and a cunning opponent. And she has the power to take down a corrupt society from the inside. Teamed up with a handsome daredevil named Jack and a gang of girl revolutionaries called the Free Hawks, Saba stages a showdown that will change the course of her own civilization.

Blood Red Road has a searing pace, a poetically minimal writing style, violent action, and an epic love story. Moira Young is one of the most promising and startling new voices in teen fiction.
-Goodreads

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery
Blood Red Road is amazingly good! Totally love the pacing, detailed and very well written.

Another story that left me breathless and gasping for more, I couldn’t put it down. Blood Red Road is a story of Saba who sets of into a journey to save her brother Lugh. I honestly didn’t imagine myself really drawn into this book, but then when I was half way through I just cannot put it down. The story is just very inviting and makes you want to read more. The pacing is very progressive and I really like it, add some characters that’s very adverse and barbaric, you got yourself an ass kicking story. I cannot say anything bad about the story, not to say I’m a flaws finder but the story is just very unique and I tell you not to pass reading this. I think the story is very gross and rich with every element on what you’re looking for a great book. With a touch of mystery and some heart quenching twist, I say this book is a must read.

The characters, I describe them as very adverse and barbaric, the whole attitude contributed throughout the whole book. I don’t know if you know but I really like belligerent character, I like those fighter characters specially a girl character. Saba is one character I line up with the most fierce woman character out there, I find her to be the likes of Katniss from The Hunger Games. Saba is a character that when she has a goal, she’ll do everything to do it. I really admire Saba because behind all the toughness that she shows she has a heart that cares for her sister Emmi. Saba considers Emmi as a burden; I have to agree because this little kid over here is unbelievable and very persistent. Emmi doesn’t want to be left alone and she follows Saba everywhere no matter what or how dangerous it maybe. I think it’s the best thing to do and I really like Emmi, she has this kind of attitude that keeps Saba inane which I think contributed very much half of the book. With every story I think there comes to be what you call the Prince Charming and Ohh boy this is just it! Jack I can say is very swoonish another fictional character that I wish to date. I don’t think anyone could resist this guy. I can consider him as the man of your dreams well if he’s ever true. And the Damsel in Distress award goes to Lugh which I think is the very different.

Overall this book has been very fun and engaging, I cannot say more how I like this book. The story, the characters, the writing style, it just go well with the whole package. I just want to add something for the writing style because it has captured my thoughts for about the whole part of the read. I really like the writing style of this book but I just notice some miss written words like ezzackly, yer and some other words I find misspelled. I find it really creative and showcase the whole setting of the story. But I think it was not needed, or rather if the setting was established as a place where a certain language is spoken maybe I think ill understand. I recommend this book for every dystopian lovers out there, I totally love and devour this book and I think if you love The Hunger Games you’ll love this one too.

RATINGS
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

BOOK TRAILER

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Moira Young has been by turns an actress, dancer, and opera singer, but her first loves are books and writing. A native Canadian, she now lives in the UK with her husband. Blood Red Road is her first novel.

2 responses to “[Review] Blood Red Road by Moira Young

Leave a Reply

